I did a double take the other day.

I thought i saw that Toronto FC have a new sponsor on their shirt.
It turns out, they do.

BMO is at it again, this time sponsoring the team and getting its name on the jersey.

I actually don’t have that much of a problem with corporate sponsorship of teams. I have a couple of Liverpool shirts with Carlsberg written across the front.

And, in terms of bad team moves, this is nothing like the NY/NJ Metrostars changing their name to the Red Bulls after the energy drink.

No, what Toronto FC have done isn’t the worst thing in soccer.

But i was looking forward to a clean Toronto FC shirt this year with just the team patch over the left breast.

One year of purity is what I was hoping for.

That they did this with about two weeks to go before the MLS season begins means that I won’t be able to get a jersey without the BMO logo on it.

And now, i’m not sure if i’m gonna buy one.

